Gray Wolf’s Lodge. . .

“They also learned, and perhaps this was the most important thing, how to look at things through the eyes of the Higher Powers.”

–Fools Crow, Lakota

Spirit reaches out to me every day. Sometimes the lessons I receive are nearly impossible to comprehend on a physical level. Occasionally they’re life-changing, leaving my perceptions of this world shaken to their very core. Often, however, those lessons come as a far more subtle confirmation of a presence which, while more powerful than anything of which I am capable of imagining, is as loving and as much a part of me as my own breath.

I visit Allen during my regular Hospice volunteer service. In contrast to my other patients who are talkative, alert, and responsive, Allen is heavily medicated, and nearly comatose. Aside from the occasional moan or twitch of a hand or foot, he remains in almost complete stillness.

Often, I visit with him in the hall or in his room. Today, however, our time is spent in a sparsely populated dining room amidst Christmas decorations and carols playing softly in the background.

Allen’s Elder story states that he’s not a very social man, so instead of disturbing him with unwelcome pleasantries, I say a quick hello and sit beside him, praying quietly. I pray to Grandfather for a swift and peaceful passage for this man whose physical body has all but run its course. I ask Great Spirit for whatever is in Allen’s highest interest. I ask the Ancestors to wait for him along his path and to greet him with open arms.

A commercial comes on the radio advertising a local winter wonderland – a place of joy where indoor snow blankets the ground several times a day.

“It’s just a short journey,” the announcer tells us, “through the woods and over the mountains to the Gray Wolf’s Lodge.”

Allen sleeps comfortably in his chair. Spirit has told us all we need to know. . .

3 Responses to “Gray Wolf’s Lodge. . .”

  1. […] Gray Wolf's Lodge. . . « Walking the drum… Share and Enjoy: […]

    Like

  2. Aho Brother! thank you for sharing your experience … hearing with the Eye, seeing with the Heart is indeed the most important thing

    Like

  3. Thank you, Andrea. It’s a lesson long time coming. Learning to slow down, to listen, to feel the Creator in everything. . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

