Earthly delights. . .

Finished getting the vegetables into the ground last night. Cucumbers, zucchini, straight necked squash, a variety of peppers and some sugar peas. This in addition to the tomatoes, onions, cabbages, peppers, and peas I planted a couple of weekends ago.

I also finished laying down the herb bed in the front yard. We’ve got chives, rosemary, cilantro, lavender, basil, spicy oregano and dill. Soon we’ll be adding white sage for ceremony and catnip for the critters.

I LOVE getting my hands dirty.

The longer it takes me to clean my fingernails, the happier I am.

There’s something very healing about working in the earth.  Although I’ve never fathered children, prepping the garden feels to me like readying the nursery.  And indeed, that’s exactly what it is.  The soil is carefully tended.   The rows are perfectly laid out.  And when they arrive, the wee ones are tucked gently into their earthen bed with whispered prayers and quiet conversation.

Tilling the soil is tilling the soul.  What comes of it depends entirely upon what we sow, and the care we’re willing to provide for the things we’ve planted. . .

4 Responses to “Earthly delights. . .”

  1. I am a mother to three, and I feel the same as you. Raising plants, especially from seed, is like raising wee peoples.

    Like

  2. Thank you.

    I can almost hear them sigh and stretch out their roots when they leave the cramped pots and settle into the Earth…

    Like

  3. Ben,

    Lovely post! Here it is very cold and we had a bit of snow earlier. This after a week of rain – fortunately of the non-flooding variety. The beds need to dry out, have soil added, and be fertilized – all before we can plant anything. So those pleasures await!

    Thanks for the kind thoughts. They are most appreciated. Saw the surgeon yesterday, and am pleased to report she was happy with the progress of that eyelid. I feel much better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

