Making my ‘scape…

I realize, on an almost daily basis, how long it’s been since I’ve posted something on my blog. To be quite honest, I’ve really had nothing to say. This is not because there hasn’t been anything going on. Nor is it because there hasn’t been the time.

I’ve been entering uncharted territory with my practice lately. My meditation has grown deeper, and I find myself having some difficulty with assigning labels to the experiences I’ve been having. I’ve chosen, instead, to let them simmer a bit.

Perhaps this silence is also due in part to my preparation for the Sun / Moon Dance in July. I’m entering the South this year, and it seems as if my entire being is quieting down in order to pool its strength for the journey.

I’ve also been spending a lot of time in the garden. The last of the strawberries have been frozen and packed away. The tomatoes, peppers, and onions are beginning to stir. And the garlic is plumping up for next month’s harvest. The scapes are long and curly, and topped with seed pods threatening to burst at any time. I’ll most likely be cutting them off this evening so the bulbs can take full advantage of a last few weeks of sunshine before I bring them in.

As I ponder this process, I’ve also begun to look at my life, and to wonder just how much of it could – and should – be cut away in order not to tax what really matters.

I find many of my interests flagging lately, and I’ve decided that it really doesn’t bother me. What to some might appear as withdrawal, is really more of an opening up of space – a letting in of some much needed air and sunshine – and the changes it’s allowed for are of a very welcome nature. . .

2 Responses to “Making my ‘scape…”

  1. weed the garden
    nurture what will sustain you
    be the gardener in all aspects of life
    from the soil we come and to the soil we go
    remember the garden; always

    Like

  2. tadedeaux Says:

    Congratulations! You’ve been nominated as a VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER by Tiffany at narrativeecopsych.wordpress.com. Go to her most recent post to see your nomination and learn about the award. THANK YOU for sharing your experiences and ideas with the blogosphere!

    Like

Leave a Reply

