“Yo, how much?”

Things have been a little busy around the campfire these last few weeks, what with the holidays and all; and I realize that it’s been a while since I’ve written anything.  I’ve also made up my mind not to write something until I can’t NOT write it.

I had a gig a while back with a poetry group and for the first couple of years, the words came fast and easy.  Of course, they were mostly crap…or, not so much crap as the scum you have to scrape off to get to the good stuff underneath.

I had a lot of help from a lot of friends, and even recorded a poetry cd with some buddies of mine back in Scranton.  I was reading out quite a bit back then, and managed to headline a couple of times thanks to a very accommodating friend in Boston, where I met up with the president of a small record label.  It was a lot of fun, and I was very blessed by the experience. 

Eventually, though, the words  ran dry (it was therapy anyway, so I more than got my money’s worth out of the 5 or 6 years that it lasted).  Towards the end, my writing got forced and stilted.  I caught myself sitting down and writing just to write, and when I took a good look at the drek I was churning out, I chucked all my written work (kept the cd’s though; I still have almost a thousand of them in the crawlspace), and made up my mind I would never write another word again unless I couldn’t keep myself from doing so.  Consequently, my postings here are sometimes a bit erratic.

At any rate, I’ve been plowing through a lot of alternative press, conspiracy websites, and spiritual boards of late, and I started thinking about my recent experiences with my teacher and another group of students I’m working with.  The concurrent student/teacher perspective on my part’s kind of interesting; infuriating sometimes, enlightening at others, but a definite blessing every step of the way.  Not that we’re not always in that position every minute of our lives…I guess it’s just never been so formalized before.  It’s kicking my ass one half of the time and patching it up the other.

So what struck me most about these boards is how easily certain bits of in-depth information get thrown around, and how quick some people are to diagnose based on a couple of sentences without so much as even a consultation. And while I won’t speak ill of another practitioner, it concerns me sometimes owing to the mercurial nature of the average chat board. Personal experience has taught me that one can never completely anticipate the motives of the person on the other end of the wire. 

I also see a lot of questions about what people are charging for their services.  I used to participate in these discussions, but lately something’s dawned on me.  There are only two reasons someone would have for asking a question like this: 1) The person doesn’t trust in their own ability to ask the Creator (or their Guides) for an answer.  Or 2) They have it in their mind to “undercut” you.  Often they’ll swear that it’s only because they don’t want to charge too much – and they may really believe that’s the reason; but the unrealized or unspoken truth of the matter in this particular case is that it’s really number 1.

I’m not taking a stance on payment here.  I agree we all need to eat and fill the gas tank more than occasionally, and for some of us the work is all there is.

I guess I just feel that the matter – and manner – of compensation is between the Creator, the practitioner, and the patient; like anything else we do when we’re called to serve.  Seems to me if we can trust the Creator enough to glue a person’s psyche back together after a seriously traumatic event, we can probably also trust Him/Her/It enough to tell us how He/She/It will provide for us in the form of compensation. . .

 

 

Leave a Reply

