On the road…

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

 -Theodor Seuss Geisel

We are all children of the West, here in this place of the physical – ideas; expressions of God given clay for the briefest of times.  Our purpose then, is simply to open as manifestations of the creative force that is Spirit in all that is enacted through us.

 I woke up this morning after an evening of dinner and a movie with an old friend of nearly 30 years to the sound of Emmylou Harris on the radio.  Her voice was razor thin, beautiful and sad, and I thought about her responsibility of sharing it with the world, just as each of us must do with the individual talents Spirit has presented us.  We’ve no more choice in the matter than a peacock has in displaying its fan or a cheetah its velocity.

I thought of my own love of music, and the times I’d fumbled with guitar, bass and voice.  I also remembered the years of poetry readings and features, and how all that had fallen away.

And then I heard these words as clearly as if they were my own: “Other gifts would have taken you other places.”

And I realized the things I’d have missed had my pursuits been different: the company of elders with energy of men one-third their age, a life saved by a single dandelion, the fallen shaman and the one he dragged down with him, the unbridled compassion of the Divine Mother cradling my broken body as it collapsed into her arms in the arbor at the Sun Moon dance.

All these things and more make up this life.  All are simply notes in the symphony of Spirit. . .

Leave a comment